风能,取之不尽的能源

人类利用风能的历史已经有数百年。在早期,风车用来研磨谷物或用作锯木机。如今,最先进的风力涡轮机从风力产生电力。作为可再生能源,风能正成为越来越多国家的重点能源。因为风在全世界都可以获得,风能成为全球能源供应的中流砥柱。

风能正在经历全球性繁荣增长

对风能的需求与日俱增。根据世界风能协会 (WWEA) 的数据,已经有 100 个国家采用风能发电。特别是在西欧,亚洲和北美,以及离岸地区,风能发电正在大幅扩张,以满足这些地区的国家日益增长的能源需求。从长期来看,前景光明:WWEA 相信在未来 20 年,全球风电生产将有 10 倍的增长。

近半数风力涡轮机采用赛米控技术

早在 20 世纪 90 年代早期,赛米控开发出了第一个风力涡轮机功率模块。今天,赛米控已经成为这一领域 IGBT 模块的市场引领者。全世界几乎一半的涡轮机安装的是赛米控的功率模块。其多个运行关键点:主逆变器(输出范围大约 2MW 到 8MW),辅助逆变器(5kW 到 50kW),负责校准旋转叶片(变桨驱动器)和机舱(方位角驱动)。

集成有水冷却器的智能 SKiiP4 IGBO 相模块 1700V/3600A

功率半导体确保一致的能量传输

虽然自行车发电机产生的功率强度和光亮会因速度不同而有所变化,但是功率半导体用在风力涡轮机中能确保能量传输保持一致,而不受风力大小和发电机速度的影响。不同的风速会引起电压和频率的波动。电力电子对发电进行控制和调节,使之永远以正确的电源频率和质量输送到公共电网。

风力涡轮机机舱和塔基内的逆变器(源自 W2E)

专注于可靠性和紧凑性

在风电厂内,电力电子的可靠性是最优先的考虑——仅次于高能效——因为对于运营者来说,停机就意味着经济损失。在功率模块选择方面,赛米控将传统的焊接连接替换为压接或烧结连接,使模块变得坚固耐用。尺寸是另一个重要特性,因为变流器通常是安装在狭窄的机舱内或是塔基内。赛米控的未来科技可使IGBT模块内的功率密度翻倍,从而显著减小变流器体积。

Wind power, an infinite source of energy

People have been making use of wind power for hundreds of years. Whilst in earlier times, windmills were used for milling grains or as sawmills, nowadays state-of-the-art wind turbines harvest electricity from the power of the wind. Wind power, as a renewable energy, is acquiring a central role in the energy mix of more and more countries. Since wind is available all over the world, wind power is a mainstay of the global energy supply.

Further information

Wind energy is experiencing a global boom

The demand for wind energy is constantly growing. According to data from the World Wind Energy Association (WWEA), electricity is already being generated from wind power in 100 countries. Energy generation from wind power is being expanded dramatically in Western Europe, Asia and North America, in particular, as well as in offshore regions, in order to cover the rising energy demands of countries in these regions. The projections are looking good for the long-term: the WWEA believes there could be a ten-fold increase in global production of electricity from wind in the next 20 years.

SEMIKRON technology in nearly half of all wind turbines

In the early 1990s, SEMIKRON developed the first power modules for use in wind turbines. Today the company is a market leader in this field of IGBT modules. Almost every second turbine in the world is fitted with SEMIKRON  power modules, which operate at several key points: the main inverter (output range of around 2 MW to 8 MW) and the auxiliary inverters (5 kW to 50 kW), which are responsible for aligning the rotor blades (pitch drive) and the nacelle (azimuth drive).

Intelligent SKiiP4 IGBT phase module 1700V/3600A with integrated water cooler

Power semiconductors ensure consistent energy transmission

Whilst the intensity of power and thus of light produced by a bicycle dynamo varies depending on speed, in wind turbines power semiconductors are used to ensure that the energy transmission remains consistent in spite of fluctuating wind and generator speeds. Varying wind speeds lead to fluctuating voltages and frequencies. The power electronics control and regulate the generated electricity in such a way that it can always be fed to the public power grid with the correct line frequency and quality.

Inverter in the tower base of a wind turbine (Source W2E)

Focus on reliability and compactness

In wind power plants, the reliability of the power electronics has top priority – next to high energy efficiency – as downtimes mean monetary losses for the operator. In a selection of power modules, SEMIKRON has replaced traditional soldered connections with pressure contacts or sintered connections, making the modules very robust and durable. Size is another important feature, as the converters usually have to be installed in the narrow nacelles or in the base of the tower. Future technology from SEMIKRON will make it possible to double the power density in the IGBT module, enabling a significant reduction in the volume of the converter.