赛米控是功率模块构建和连接技术的开拓者

作为功率模块构建和连接技术的开拓者,赛米控在1975年推出了全球第一款带双极芯片的绝缘功率半导体模块。该产品之后,赛米控又相继推出多款创新产品。图1列出了这些里程碑产品。

赛米控产品组合历史中的里程碑产品

持续发展

1989年开发了第一款绝缘栅双极晶体管 (IGBT) 标准模块。如今的IGBT结构仍与原始组装方法密切相关。一个或多个陶瓷板DCB(直接铜绑定Direct Copper Bond)焊接到铜底板上, 铜底板也是散热器的安装表面。DCB包含一个两侧喷涂有铜的Al2O3或AlN薄绝缘基板。

芯片的底面焊接到DCB顶部(IGBT:集电极,二极管:通常为阴极)。平行的铝绑定线将芯片顶部(IGBT:栅极和发射极,二极管:阳极)连接到DCB基板相应的衬垫上。有的模块端子直接焊接到这些衬垫上,也有很多端子采用焊接连接或绑定连接机械固定在模块外壳中。

功率模块构建和连接技术之所以不断发展,一方面源于生产和加工模块的成本控制措施,另一方面是出于对模块性能不断增长的需求。

这包含对半导体静态负载和短期负载的最佳散热。功率模块通过高效冷却能得到有效利用,高效冷却是获得大功率及最低成本半导体的"必要条件"。因此IGBT和二极管芯片的容许温度一代比一代高,而芯片很高的运行温度和高效的散热能力又提高了对模块设计的温度及功率循环能力要求。这就要求不断开发新型构建和连接技术。

赛米控凭借下文所述的用于功率模块的"SKiiP®"、SPRiNG、"SKiNTER" 和"SKiN"技术,当之无愧成为这一领域技术发展领先企业之一。

隔离IGBT标准模块组装样例

A pioneer in the construction and connection technology

As a pioneer in the construction and connection technology of power modules SEMIKRON presented the world's first insulated power semiconductor module with bipolar chips in 1975. This construction was followed by a number of innovative developments.

Milestones in the history of the SEMIKRON product portfolio

Continuous development

The first IGBT based standard module followed in 1989. Today the construction is still closely related to the original set-up. One or more ceramic plates DCBs (Direct Copper Bond) are soldered onto a copper base plate, which also serves as the mounting surface to the heatsink. They consist of a thin insulating substrate made of Al2O3 or AlN and copper coated on both sides.

Soldered to the top of the DCBs are the bottom sides of the chips (IGBTs: collectors, diodes: usually cathodes). The chip tops (IGBTs: gate and emitter, diodes: anode) are contacted by parallel Al bond wires to corresponding pads on the DCB substrate. Soldered directly onto these pads are either the module terminals or there are more soldered or bonded connections to terminals mechanically fixed in the module housing.

The continuous development of the construction and connection technology of power modules is driven by cost measures in production and processing of the modules on the one hand and ever increasing demands on the module properties on the other.

This involves the best possible dissipation of the heat loss in the semiconductors to the cooling, both statically as well as for short-term loads. Power modules can be utilized very effectively with efficient cooling, which is a "must" for high power and lowest possible semiconductor cost. Thus the permissible temperatures of the IGBT and diode chips is increased from one chip generation to the next. However, high chip operating temperatures and efficient heat dissipation tighten the requirements for temperature and power cycling capability of the module designs. This requires continuous development of the construction and connection technologies.

With the technologies described below SKiiP®, SPRiNG®, SKiNTER® and SKiN® used in power modules successfully positioned in the market SEMIKRON is one of the pacemakers of this development.

Example of the set-up of an isolated IGBT standard module