更长的使用寿命和更高的功率循环能力

SKiiP®技术是赛米控1992年推出的一项专门压接技术,在功率密度、寿命、可靠性和成本等方面具有很大优势。该技术最重要的特点是无铜底板设计。带有芯片的DCB基板通过外壳中的压力模具或利用芯片之间的结构压力将元件压接到散热器上。

SKiiP®技术SKiiP4(左)和MiniSKiiP(右)

该技术主要优势是不存在粘合绑定连接,比如,不存在DCB基板(热膨胀系数为 4...7·10-6/K)与铜底板(热膨胀系数约为 17.5·10-6/K)之间的大面积焊接。这就避免了影响寿命的机械应力,而传统模块随着温度变化,底板和DCB之间会产生机械应力。由于无铜底板以及无下面的焊接层,芯片和散热片之间的热阻随之降低。因此与有铜底板模块相比,其稳定运行状态下的功率密度会更高。底板和陶瓷基板之间消除了热机械应力,这让不带底板的模块能使用大型基板。于是取代了将多个小基板焊接在一个共同底板上,并用其它元件进行连接的方式。

赛米控将SKiiP®技术用在多个产品组中,并且与模块内不同的电源及控制端口连接方式相结合。

电源及控制端口的连接技术

产品组

  • SKiiP®
  • SKiM4
  • SKiM63/93
  • MiniSKiiP
  • SEMITOP,部分SEMIPONT

电源端口

  • 压接
  • 焊接
  • 压接
  • SPRiNG弹簧连接
  • 焊接

控制端口

  • SPRiNG弹簧连接
  • SPRiNG弹簧连接
  • SPRiNG弹簧连接
  • SPRiNG弹簧连接
  • 焊接

模块内的负载端口设计为低杂散电感的叠层母排。叠层母排的手指形结构有两个作用,一方面是使单个IGBT和二极管芯片获得对称的电气接触,另一方面是均匀分配DCB基板对散热器的机械压力。

SKiiP4和SKiM63/93的压接系统设计

相比之下,MiniSKiiP产品的"SPRiNG"系统适用于印刷线路板。DCB基板对散热器的压力主要由弹簧承担,与此同时弹簧也为PCB提供电气触点,参见图3。一个刚性"盖子"确保触点上方PCB的水平度。通过拧紧安装螺丝,盖子与冷却装置之间可获得必要的接触压力。

MiniSKiiP中的弹簧负载压接系统

Longevity & high power cycling capability

The SKiiP technology introduced by SEMIKRON in 1992 is a special pressure contact technology with advantages in power density, longevity, reliability and cost. The most important feature is the design without a baseplate. The DCB substrate with the chips is pressed onto the heatsink either by pressure moulds in the housing or with structured pressure elements between the chips.

SKiiP Technology SKiiP4

The main advantage of this construction technology is that no adhesion bond connection such as a large soldering area exists between the DCB substrate (thermal expansion coefficient of 4...7·10-6/K), and the Cu baseplate (thermal expansion coefficient of approximately 17.5·10-6/K). This avoids lifetime-related mechanical stresses between baseplate and DCB, as they occur in conventional modules with temperature changes. Due to the absence of the baseplate and the lower solder layer, the thermal resistance between the chips and the heatsink decreases. Thus a higher power density can be achieved in the steady state operation compared to the baseplate modules. The elimination of the thermo-mechanical stress between the baseplate and ceramic substrates allows the use of very large substrates for modules without baseplate. This is instead of several small substrates soldered to a common base and connected by additional elements.

The SKiiP technology is used by SEMIKRON in various product groups and combined with different power and control terminals contacted within the module.

Contact technology of power and control terminals

Product group

  • SKiiP®
  • SKiM4
  • SKiM63/93
  • MiniSKiiP
  • SEMITOP, some SEMIPONT

Power terminals

  • Pressure contact
  • Solder contact
  • Pressure contact
  • “SPRiNG” contact
  • Solder contact

Control terminals

  • “SPRiNG” contact
  • “SPRiNG” contact
  • “SPRiNG” contact
  • “SPRiNG” contact
  • Solder contact

Within the modules (SKiiP4, SKiM63/93), the load terminals are designed as a low-inductance sandwich busbar. A finger structure of the busbars acts both as a symmetrical electrical contact to the individual IGBT and diode chips as well as a uniform distribution of mechanical pressure of the DCB substrates to the heatsink.

Design of the pressure contact system for SKiiP4 and SKiM63/93

In contrast, the "SPRiNG" system of the MiniSKiiP products is adapted to the use of printed circuit boards. The pressure of the DCB substrates to the heatsink is largely provided by springs which, at the same time, provide the electrical contacts to the PCB, see Figure 3. The planar level of the PCB above  the contacts is ensured by a rigid "lid". The necessary contact pressure between the lid and the cooling device is achieved by tightening the mounting screws.

Spring-loaded pressure contact system in the MiniSKiiP