再见了,绑定线!

2011年赛米控推出SKiN技术,其可在所有材料结合物上应用烧结技术,这对于功率模块的负载循环来说意义重大:烧结成分取代了所有焊接和绑定连接。

标准连接技术(焊接 / 绑定)与SKiN技术的对比

SKiN柔性层替代了绑定线的功能

SKiN柔性层替代了绑定线的功能。因烧结层位于芯片顶部,SKiN柔性层允许功率模块提高约25%的浪涌电流。与传统功率模块相比,其电流密度可大约提高一倍。烧结层出色的热性能和电气性能使模块寿命提高十倍。

此外,如果DCB基板直接烧结到散热片上,那么与传统界面材料如导热硅脂或导热箔片相比,到散热器的热阻将大为减少。这使半导体芯片与冷却液之间的热阻Rth(j-a)降低30%以上,功率提高或体积减小35%。

标准模块中部分热阻与带有烧结散热片的SKiN功率模块中部分热阻的对比

Goodbye to Bond Wires

In 2011 SEMIKRON presented the SKiN technology which comprises the consistent application of the sintering technology on all material combinations significant to load-cycling in a power module: All soldering and bond connections are replaced by sintered compositions.

Comparison of standard connection technology (solder/bonding) and SKiN technology

SKiN flex layers replace wire bonding

SKiN flex layers take over the function of the bond wires. They allow an increase of about 25% surge current in the power module due to the sintered layer on the chip tops. Compared to conventional power modules the additional performance allows an approximate doubling of the current density. Excellent thermal and electrical properties of the sintered layers increase the module lifetime up to tenfold.

If, in addition, the DCB substrate is sintered directly onto the heatsink, the thermal resistance to the heatsink is reduced drastically over traditional interface materials - such as thermal pastes or foils. This decreases the thermal resistance Rth(j-a) between the semiconductor chip and coolant by up 30%, which enables a power increase or a reduction in volume by up to 35%.

Comparison of the partial thermal transfer resistances in a standard module and a SKiN power module with sintered heatsink