应用实例

在恶劣的工业环境中,变流器需要特别坚固结实。另一个重要的方面是成本。作为首选和第二选择供应商,赛米控为小型和大型驱动制造商提供功率半导体。

除了某些特殊应用外,如今的电动驱动技术采用的是卓越的三相同步和异步电机。变速控制主要通过变频器实现。首先将电网电压转换为直流电压,然后再转换为变频变幅电压。如果载荷可以再生(例如由旋转质量产生),制动产生电能,那么在大多数情况下,制动斩波器和制动电阻器会将电能转换为热量,或者反馈回电网。

二象限变流器

二象限变流器无法回馈能量。制动能量必须转换成热量。这类变流器主要用在低功率输出的驱动器中,包括大多数机床驱动。CIB 功率模块(变流器逆变器制动模块)适用于低中档输出(最大约 15kW)的变流器。这类型CIB 模块包含变流器的所有功率半导体,电源整流器,制动斩波器和逆变器。

四象限 IGBT 逆变器的方框图

四象限变流器

为使能量反馈回电网,较高输出的驱动变流器通常额定为四象限运行。这意味着在电网侧和电机侧是两个拓扑结构完全相同的变流器。能够回馈能量意味着对于再生负荷,连接的电机能够将产生的能量输送回电网。

软起动器 SEMiSTART 晶闸管模块的方框图

晶闸管控制器和软起动器

异步电机的变速控制可通过每个电源相中的反并联晶闸管实现。如今,这种方法主要应用于软起动器,以便限制起动电流和起动扭矩。赛米控制造的 SEMIPACK 晶闸管模块,和含有一相或三相反并联连接晶闸管的特殊功率模块,都是可靠并且经济的解决方案。

控制电动驱动样例

低压驱动

就数量来说,通用的“普通”低压驱动是变频器最大的使用领域。这些变流器以二象限和四象限运行控制电机,功率范围极广,从低于 0.5kW 到超过 1MW。典型的应用包括泵,风扇和电机在技术工艺中的应用。

伺服驱动

高度动态的伺服驱动应用于在高峰负荷的位置、速度或扭矩控制。功率范围极其广泛,从0.5kW 到 30kW。这些高精度驱动常常用于控制机床、工业机器人等设备中的电机的二象限运行。

电梯驱动

每当说到电梯驱动,就对平稳运行、精确定位、可靠性、负载循环稳定性有着严苛的要求。这里采用的是输出为 10kW 到 250kW 的二象限和四象限运行驱动。

中压驱动

输出为 500kW 到 5MW 的中压驱动广泛应用于重工业领域。近年来,多电平和多单元拓扑在这一市场领域的重要性日益增强。在这些拓扑结构中,多个 IGBT 或逆变器单元串联连接,能够让系统电压远远高于功率半导体的阻断电压。这意味着可以在 3300V 及 3300V 以上线电压的中压网络中,使用反向恢复电压仅为 1700V 的成本效益高的 IGBT 模块。此外,单元的多电平开关可降低网络谐波,从而减少滤波器的使用。

三电平 IGBT
逆变器输出电压和电流曲线的方框图

用于电动驱动的赛米控产品

Solutions for electric drives

In the harsh industrial environment, converters need to be particularly robust. Another important aspect is cost. SEMIKRON is both a first and second source supplier of power semiconductors to small and large drive manufacturers alike.

With the exception of certain specific applications, today's electric drive technology uses predominantly three-phase synchronous and asynchronous machines. Variable speed control is mostly carried out by frequency converters, which first convert mains voltage into DC voltage, and then into a voltage with variable frequency and amplitude. If the load is regenerative (e.g. because of rotating masses), braking produces electrical energy, which in most cases must then either be converted into heat by a brake chopper and brake resistor, or fed back to the energy grid.

Further information

2-quadrant converter

2-quadrant converters are not able to recover energy; braking energy must be converted into heat. These converters are primarily used in drives with low power output, including the majority of machine tool drives. CIB power modules (Converter Inverter Brake module) are preferred for use in converters with low to medium output, up to around 15 kW. CIB modules of this type contain all the power semiconductors for a converter, the mains rectifier, the brake chopper and the inverter.

Block diagram of a 4-quadrant IGBT inverter

4-quadrant converter

In order to be able to feed energy back to the grid, drive converters with higher output are often rated for 4-quadrant operation, which means they consist of two topologically identical converters at the grid side and the machine side. Ability to recover energy means that, in the event of a regenerative load, the connected machine can feed the generated energy back to the grid.

Block diagram of a soft starter

Thyristor controllers and soft starters

Variable speed control of asynchronous machines can also be achieved with anti-parallel thyristors in each supply phase. Today, this method is mainly applied to soft starters in order to limit starting current and starting torque. SEMIPACK thyristor modules and specific power modules that contain thyristors connected in anti-parallel for one or three phases, manufactured by SEMIKRON, are a reliable and cost-efficient solution.

Examples for controlled electric drives

Low-voltage drives

In terms of quantity, "general" low-voltage drives for universal applications are the largest area of use for frequency converters. These converters control motors in 2- and 4-quadrant operation and are available in a broad power range, from under 0.5 kW to  beyond 1 MW. Typical applications include pumps, fans and motors for technological processes.

Servo drives

Highly dynamic servo drives are used in applications with high peak loads for controlling position, speed or torque. The power range is predominantly between 0.5 kW and 30 kW. These precision drives are frequently used to control 2-quadrant operation of motors in machine tools, industrial robots etc.

Elevator drives

When it comes to drives for elevators, there are demanding requirements in terms of smooth operation, accuracy of position, reliability and load cycle stability. Here, drives with outputs of 10 kW to 250 kW are used for 2 and 4-quadrant operation.

Medium-voltage drives

Medium-voltage drives with outputs of 500 kW to 5 MW are used extensively in heavy industry. In recent years, multilevel  and multi cell topology are increasingly gaining in importance in this market segment. In these topologies, many IGBT or inverter cells are connected in series, allowing for significantly higher system voltages than the blocking voltage of the power semiconductor. This means that it is possible to use cost-efficient IGBT modules with just 1,700 V reverse recovery voltage in medium-voltage networks with line voltages of 3,300 V and higher. Moreover, multilevel switching of the cells produces low network harmonics, so reducing on filters.

Block diagram of a 3-level IGBT inverter
Waveforms of output voltage and output current

SEMIKRON Products for electric motor drives