科技和医疗电源有着不同的应用领域和拓扑结构,因此在阻断电压、正向电流和开关特性方面,对功率半导体的要求也大不相同。

感应加热

用于熔化、退火、回火、焊接、锻造、汽化或半导体生产等工艺的感应加热要求电源的功率等级大约在 1kW 到 20MW 之间,不同电压等级的脉冲频率在 100Hz 到 3MHz 之间。

等离子设备

根据应用领域的不同,等离子设备电源使用纯直流电流或脉冲直流电流,最大为几十千赫兹。输出电压范围在 300V 到数千伏之间,功率等级在 1kW 到数百千瓦。主要应用包括表面涂层,例如太阳能电池,建筑玻璃和金属。

激光技术

对于激光技术,电源要求取决于光源原理和性能。例如,控制激光二极管的电流源必须产生 30V 50A 的脉冲,脉冲频率在 200kHz 和 1MHz 之间。

医疗诊断系统

最先进的医疗诊断系统,例如 MRI,CT 和 X 光设备,用电量非常大。对功率半导体的可靠性和开关特性方面有着极其严格的要求。例如 CT 单元要求的 120kV 高压,是通过 700V 到 800V 直流电使用谐振逆变器以 100kHz 转换产生的。随着转换速率的提高,诊断结果的改进,设备的重量和尺寸也在减少。

电弧焊和电阻焊拓扑结构

以下举例说明了所选标准拓扑结构。以及用于电弧焊和电阻焊电源的功率晶体管、晶闸管和二极管,对于这些部件最重要的要求是什么。

电焊

电焊是功率半导体在电 工学电源中的典型应用,需要以低输出电压输送高直流。根据工艺,对焊接电流的残余波纹和控制精度有不同要求,因此对使用的功率半导体的性能要求也不同。几乎所有情况下,焊接都是一种高电涌循环过程,通常对功率半导体的负载循环稳定性有着精确的要求。.

电弧焊的焊接电源

这个最简单的用于电弧焊焊接电源的拓扑结构,包含有一个单相或三相电源变压器,和一个与下游连接的带扼流圈的单相 (B2) 或三相 (B6) 焊接整流器。只有当整流器使用的是晶闸管,或在变压器上游另外连接一个交流开关时,电流控制才可实现。动态控制和电流波纹由电源频率指定。

使用不同的拓扑结构,可显著改进焊接质量,并大幅提高效率。使用输入或次级脉冲焊接电源,体积更小,重量更轻。这时的能量流由 IGBT,或是分立的或模块化结构的功率 MOSFET控制。这取决于高负载循环稳定性和低损耗等要求。最终,它们能够以脉冲频率在 10kHz 到 100kHz之间的最低冷却复杂度实现转换。焊接逆变器将从230V或400V的电网中得到的电源,通过一个缓冲直流总线电压电路转换为焊接电流。

二次侧脉冲焊接电源的方框图

副边脉冲焊接电源(斩波器)

对于焊接整流器,首先电源变压器的输出电压被整流,然后经直流母线电容器平波,最终从线路频率解耦。电流控制由输出侧直流斩波器实现,通常包含一个带续流二极管的功率MOSFET模块。MOSFET 的特性,最大反向恢复电压 200V,允许高脉冲频率(40Hz到100kHz),使焊接电流实现良好的动态控制和非常低的波纹,达到约1,000A@125m导通时间。

 

 

一次侧脉冲焊接电源的方框图

原边脉冲焊接电源(焊接逆变器)

同样的,电网电压使用一个不可控 B6 桥整流。然而,整流桥直接与电网连接,因此电源变压器,其优质材料、重量和体积要求都可以被免除。直流由直流母线电容器平波。由两个 IGBT 半桥模块构成的单相逆变器将直流电压转换为交流电压,脉冲频率为 20kHz 到 30kHz。电压经下游连接的变压器与焊接过程相适应——因为高转换率,比电源变压器更小、更轻、更低价。

中频电阻焊电源的方框图

电阻焊焊接电源

对于电阻焊,例如点焊,厚度为 0.5 到3.0mm 的重叠的单板被电极压紧,由短暂的电流冲击达到熔化温度,既而被焊接。今天,输出频率约 1kHz 的中频电阻焊的使用,事实上已将其他电阻焊工艺排除在外

与电弧焊相比,拓扑结构的最重要区别在于对极高的焊接电流的要求——高达120,000A@10%导通持续时间。相比 50Hz 焊接的主要优势仍然是变压器极轻的重量。例如在汽车工业领域,这决定了焊接设备能否安装在机械手臂上。

用于技术电源的赛米控产品

The diverse fields of application and topologies of power supplies for technology and medical uses lead to very different requirements on power semiconductors in terms of blocking voltage, forward current and switching characteristics.

Inductive heating

Inductive heating for processes such as melting, annealing, tempering, soldering, forging, vaporisation or semiconductor production requires supplies at a power level ranging from around 1 kW to 20 MW, with pulse frequencies of between 100 Hz and 3 MHz at different voltage levels.

Plasma plants

Depending on the area of application, power supplies for plasma plants use pure DC current or pulsed DC current in the range of up to a few tens of kHz. The output voltage range is between 300 V and several kV, with power levels between 1 kW and several hundred kW. Major applications include surface coatings, e.g. of solar cells, architectural glass and metal.

Laser technology

In laser technology, the power supply requirements are determined by the principle and performance of the light source. A current source for controlling a laser diode must generate pulses of 30 V, 50A with a pulse frequency of between 200 kHz and 1MHz, for example.

Medical diagnostic systems

State-of-the-art medical diagnostic systems such as MRI, CT and X-ray equipment require a lot of energy. There are particularly demanding requirements in terms of the reliability and switching characteristics of the power semiconductors. The high voltage of 120 kV, for example, required by a CT unit, is generated from 700 V to 800 V DC using a resonant inverter switching at 100 kHz. As the switching rate increases, the diagnostic result improves, while at the same time the weight and size of the equipment decreases.

Topologies for arc welding and resistance welding

Selected standard topologies are described below by way of example, together with the most important requirements for power transistors, thyristors and diodes in power supplies for arc welding and resistance welding.

Electric welding

Electric welding is a classic application of power semiconductors in power supplies for electro technology, which need to deliver a high direct current with low output voltage. Depending on the process, there are different requirements in terms of residual ripple and control precision of the welding current, and hence in terms of the properties of the power semiconductors used. As welding is, in almost all cases, a duty cycle process with high power surges, there are usually very precise requirements in terms of the load cycle stability of the power semiconductor.

Welding power supplies for arc welding

The simplest topology for a welding power supply for arc welding comprises a single- or three-phase power transformer and a single- (B2) or three-phase (B6) welding rectifier with choke connected downstream. Current control is only possible if the rectifier uses thyristors or if an additional AC switch is connected upstream of the transformer. Control dynamics and current ripple are specified by the line frequency.

It is possible to achieve significantly improved welding results together with improved efficiency, smaller dimensions and lower weight using input- or secondary-side pulsed welding power supplies, for which different topologies are applied. Here the energy flow is controlled by IGBTs or power MOSFETs of discrete or modular construction, which are subject to requirements such as high load cycle stability and low losses. As a result, they can be switched with a minimum of cooling complexity at pulse frequencies of between 10 kHz and 100 kHz. Welding inverters convert power drawn from the 230 V or 400 V mains into welding current via a buffering DC bus voltage circuit.

Block diagram of a secondary side switched welding power supply

Secondary-side pulsed welding current source (chopper)

As for welding rectifiers, first the output voltage of the power transformer is rectified, then it is smoothed by DC link capacitors and, as a result, is decoupled from the line frequency. Current control is carried out by the output-side DC chopper, which typically comprises a power MOSFET module with freewheeling diode. The properties of the MOSFETs, with a maximum of 200 V reverse recovery voltage, allow for high pulse frequencies (40 Hz to 100 kHz), which enables good control dynamics and very low ripple in the welding current, up to around 1,000 A @ 125 ms turn-on time.  

Block diagram of a primary side switched welding power supply

Primary pulsed welding power supplies (welding inverter)

Here, too, the mains voltage is rectified using an uncontrolled B6 bridge. However, the bridge is connected directly to the mains, so the power transformer, and its significant material, weight and volume requirements, can be dispensed with. The DC is smoothed by DC link capacitors. A single-phase inverter made from two IGBT half-bridge modules then converts the DC voltage into AC voltage with a pulse frequency of between 20 kHz and 30 kHz. The voltage is then adapted to the welding process by the transformer connected downstream – which is significantly smaller, lighter and cheaper than a power transformer, owing to the high switching rate.

Block diagram of a medium frequency power supply for resistance welding

Welding current sources for resistance welding

In the case of resistance welding, e.g. spot welding, the overlapping individual sheets, which are 0.5 to 3.0 mm thick, are pressed together with electrodes, brought to melting temperature by a brief current surge, and thus welded. Today, medium frequency resistance welding with output frequencies of around 1 kHz is used virtually to the exclusion of all other resistance welding processes.

The topological differences as compared to arc welding result, first and foremost, from the requirements of the significantly higher welding current – up to 120,000 A @ 10% on-time. The primary advantage over 50 Hz welding is again the substantially lower weight of the transformer, e.g. if the welding equipment is fitted onto robotic arms, as in the automotive industry.

SEMIKRON Products for technological power supplies